turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

How to start investing

I am just starting out and have a pretty decent credit score. I’m also starting save up some money but I like to plan ahead. What are a few things you guys would suggest to start investing? What should I look for?
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

28 Replies
Carl
Level 15

How to start investing

Rule #1 - Do not invest what you are not willing to lose

Rule #2 - Consider all monies invested as lost, permanently and forever, within the first minute of having made said investment

Rule #3 - Other investors do not give you tips for "your" benefit. They do so for their own benefit. It's the name of the game.

Generally I myself only invest for the long term. I don't "play the markets" because I'm not yet that rich, and probably never will be. I find three types of mutual funds to be right for me. I invest equally in growth funds, growth and income funds, and about 15-20% of invested funds into foreign markets. Make google your best friend, and do your homework to learn about this stuff. Don't rely on other's to "educate" you for your benefit. They're not going to.... but they will lie to you about it. That's why they're so successful at it.

How to start investing

Educate yourself. Asking questions is a great first start!

I think one of my favorite starter guides is "If You Can" https://www.etf.com/docs/IfYouCan.pdf

It is meaty, but full of sound advice that is focused on helping one person, and that's you!

Good luck!

How to start investing

I'm in a similar boat, not too familiar with investing, just saving. Would love to see some more ideas on where to start, and what to look out for from those who have been there!