Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Tax Dues seem too high

Hi there, I’m a student who spent all of 2023 as an independent contractor. I did not pay quarterly taxes. When I went to do my tax return in April 2024, it calculated that I owed between $4000-5000. That number does not seem right to me, as I’m a student who was working part time, and only made around $20,000 last year. I am confused on why my taxes would be that high given my status as a student and as a part time low income worker. 

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies
Jackstar221
Employee Tax Expert

Tax Dues seem too high

Hi,

Here is an estimated taxes link. Estimated Taxes
Within this link, there is the Tax Withholding Estimator. Tax Withholding Estimator

You can use that link to compare the calculations, they should be similar to the amount owed that was shown in TurboTax, and TurboTax's calculations are very likely to be correct based on what was entered into TurboTax.

You may have received a 1098-T (tuition), or 1098-E (expense) forms from your educational institution which can be entered in the deductions and credits section of TurboTax. I suggest logging in to your school's portal, or asking them if you received those forms.

You may also be able to write expenses off under the self-employment income and expenses section of TurboTax, such as mileage, home office, office supplies, and even the TurboTax fee that you paid in 2023, for the 2022 tax year (you can enter that as an other expense or as a legal & professional fee within the self-employment income & expenses section of TurboTax).

marctu
Employee Tax Expert

Tax Dues seem too high