Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Extension Question

This is my first time filing an extension due to some circumstances that happen.

I filed an extension for 2023 return. It's approved but my question is about the balance due on an estimated return??

I wanted to more research on what that was but by now I'm sure that date has passed and I figured I was going to get notified on how I would make that payment.

I want to file this weekend but well I run into any issues or can I file as normal? Never been through a situation like this filing super late. 

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

4 Replies
Katie-P
Employee Tax Expert

Extension Question

Hi @Eugene1980,

Thanks for your question! 

I'd like to explain a few different things.

1. When taxpayers file for an extension, it is not an extension of time to pay; it is just an extension of time to file. If you used TurboTax to file your extension, the program would have asked you if you wanted to make a payment. You would then have had to estimate how much taxes you were likely to have owed, and you'd have been given the option to pay using TurboTax.