turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Georgia2

If I attended a foreign university for my undergraduate degree, do I qualify for the American Opportunity Tax credit?

I graduated from King's College London in July 2016.
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
AnnetteB
Intuit Alumni

If I attended a foreign university for my undergraduate degree, do I qualify for the American Opportunity Tax credit?

Unless your university participates in a student aid program administered by the US Department of Education, then it would not be considered an eligible education institution for the purpose of the American Opportunity Tax Credit and you would not qualify to claim the credit

To be sure, follow this link to look up your university:  https://www.irs.gov/individuals/eligible-educational-inst

For more details about the American Opportunity Tax Credit, see below.

https://ttlc.intuit.com/replies/5358150

View solution in original post

12 Replies
kitswartz

My daughter is in the same situation, attending King's College London, and also didn't receive a 1098-T, however the college does participate in a student aid program administered by the US Department of Education.  Their code is G09085.  When I put the info into the turbo tax website, saying that I don't have the 1098-T but want to continue, I eventually get the message "There were no net qualified education expenses".  Doesn't the fact that they participate in the Federal Loan program mean that they are a qualified institution?  Thanks, Kit
AnnetteB
Intuit Alumni