Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I am having trouble with the education credits. I believe, as a grad student with income less than 7K and only a small $650 scholarship I qualify. Can someone explain?

I graduated undergrad in the spring, paid about 3K in tuition (this shows up in box 1 on the 1098-T) more than half-time student.  
I started grad school at a new school as a more than half-time student and paid tuition with loans and small scholarship.  Tuition and fees of about 6K show up in box 2 on that 1098-T form.  I am not sure why, but there is no value in box 1.  In the program I selected "but this isn't the amount I paid the university" and entered the amount I paid with loans, scholarship and savings in that box.

I have an income of less than 7K for the year and had to take out loans to pay for tuition and living.  Am I wrong? Do I really not qualify? or is it possible I or the program screwed up?  If so, how do I fix this?
Thank you for your help!  Trying not to rip my hair out over here!
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

I am having trouble with the education credits. I believe, as a grad student with income less than 7K and only a small $650 scholarship I qualify. Can someone explain?

Are you a dependent on parent's return?  I am going to assume you are not.  If you are that can be the reason you are not getting any of the credits.

There are a couple of things that could be going on.  

If you have income of less than $7000 and no one else claims you on their return, your tax liability is $0.