Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

maddyjez
Returning Member

Do I need to file in 2 states if I was an out-of-state student for 1/2 the year?

TLDR; I lived in NY this entire year, but maintained permanent MA residency until the end of May. Do I need to file a tax return for MA and NY, even though I only earned income in NY? My dad wants to claim me as a dependent for 1/2 the year as well.

Full Details: From Jan-May of this year, I attended college in NY. I rented a room in a house in NY, but maintained my permanent address in MA with my parents. I had a MA driver's license, a MA car registration, MA public health insurance, and all of my banking information was tied to MA. I did not earn any income in MA or NY during this time. I graduated from college in May and my dad wants to claim me as a dependent for Jan-May, since he paid my college tuition and fees, as well as my rent (which he paid until August).

In June, I officially moved into an apartment in NY with my boyfriend and began paying my own rent. I got a NY driver's license, a NY car registration, and tied all of my banking information to this new permanent address in NY. I began working at the end of August as a teacher in NY, so my only income for the year was in NY. At this time in August, I also switched over from my parents' MA public health insurance to an employer-sponsored health insurance plan through my school district. 

My question is, do I need to file a state return for both MA and NY, even though I did not earn any income in MA? Also, if my dad wants to claim me as a dependent, is the MA return required in order to prove that I "lived" with him for 1/2 the year?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.