Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

2021 is my first year filling federal taxes. I have been a full time student since 2018. How do I apply for Education Credits for years 18-20 on my 2021 Tax return?

I have my IRS Transcripts for 18,19,20. Do I add all of them up and use the sum of all the years?
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies

2021 is my first year filling federal taxes. I have been a full time student since 2018. How do I apply for Education Credits for years 18-20 on my 2021 Tax return?

No   You cannot do that.  Each tax year is separate.   Only 2021 information can be entered on a 2021 tax return.  If you need to file tax returns for any earlier years you can do that.  But you are too late to get a tax refund for 2018 even if you file it because it is past the deadline and any refund you could have received has now been forfeited.

As for 2019 or 2020----were you someone else's dependent for those tax years?  If so, the person who could claim you as a dependent is the one who can get the education credits.   If no one could claim you then you can file 2019 and 2020 returns if you use the correct software for each of those years, and mail in the returns.

Each tax year has to be filed separately using the forms for the specific tax year.  They cannot be combined in any way--do not even put them in the same envelope when you mail them.  Software for past years is available back to 2018.  Any earlier years can only be prepared on paper forms by hand--and those refunds have been forfeited now.