Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Why does my California return have a Schedule C for my LLC in another state but that state doesn't have Schedule C?

I am a resident of California, but I have an LLC in Colorado. In past years, I have had no problem, but this year, TurboTax kept considering the LLC to be in California and added a Schedule C under California instead of Colorado. I have told TT that I have income from Colorado, and also, the LLC address is in Colorado, but it didn’t change anything. I also tried manually removing Schedule C under California, but TT kept adding it back.

Any idea how to resolve this?
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
CatinaT1
Expert Alumni

Why does my California return have a Schedule C for my LLC in another state but that state doesn't have Schedule C?

You should not have to pay the Franchise tax in California since your LLC is registered in Colorado.

The Schedule C is part of your federal return and if you allocated all of the income from that Schedule C to Colorado as Colorado source income the Schedule C will only be in the background of your California Return. That income will be taxed by California because you are a California Resident, but you will get credit on your California return for tax paid to Colorado.

When you entered your state returns in TurboTax, did you start with Colorado and then do California? If not, I would delete your state returns and enter them in that order.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

View solution in original post

11 Replies
CatinaT1
Expert Alumni