Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

rmnrajan

USA Federal Tax for fund transfer from my parents for non-resident USA citizen

Hi

I am studying abroad (Singapore) and my parents transfer USD (in Jun 2023) to my USA bank account. Will I need to file tax for 2023?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies
rmnrajan

HI 

I am non-resident of USA and resident of Singapore.

Gifts received from anyone, in ANY AMOUNT are NOT taxable income  to the recipient of the gift and are not reported on your annual income tax return. 

The $17,000 threshold is for whether the GIVER of the gift has to file a gift tax return.  "Gift Tax" is somewhat of a misnomer.  Even though a gift tax return may be required, for individual  gifts over $17,000, very few people ever actually pay federal gift tax. The purpose of the gift tax return is usually only to document a reduction in the allowable estate tax exemption.
See 
https://turbotax.intuit.com/tax-tools/tax-tips/Tax-Planning-and-Checklists/The-Gift-Tax-Made-Simple/...  

If you are a US citizen or permanent resident (green card holder) you must file a tax return to report all your world-wide taxable income.  Gifts are not taxable income, but you may have other taxable income such as bank interest, investments, or money from side jobs.  Even if you file and pay tax overseas, you must also file and pay tax to the US, although the US will generally give you a deduction or credit if you pay foreign tax on the same money.