turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

johnherndon
Returning Member

Self-Emplayed

I'm a realtor and my financial guy had me make 2 deposits in my SEP account last year. One as an employer and one as a realtor. Turbo Tax says my maximum to deposit is 6500.00. How do I enter the deductions in TurboTax?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Replies

Self-Emplayed

If you are self employed then you are NOT an employee or employer ... seek local professional assistance to sort this out. 

Carl
Level 15

Self-Emplayed

If self-employed and your business type is sole proprietorship or single member LLC (which is most likely) then your business is considered a disregarded entity by the IRS. For either of those two business types you the owner of the business can not be an "employee" of the business. So any contributions to a retirement account are entered under the Deductions & Credits tab in the Retirement & Investments section.

Now if your single member LLC has filed form 8832 with the IRS to be "treated like an S-Corp" for tax purposes, then a completely different set of rules apply to you and your business. Basically, if the 8832 was filed then in order for your business to be "treated like an S-Corp", it must "act" like an S-Corp. This means the business must follow all the laws, rules and regulations set for by the IRS and your state for S-Corps. This includes the requirement that you must take a minimum taxable "draw" from the business every year. In addition to that, you can also be an employee of that company and the S-Corp can do things such as provide a 401(k) or SEP IRA to it's employees.