Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

Question about Sale of Business Property for a vehicle

I'm not a tax expert but I'm confused by something you wrote:

The dealership offered me $500 for my old car.  I used it 24.71% in 2020, meaning $124 applied as a business gain, which I entered. 

Then, I get taken to a screen that asks me about "vehicle Cost".  I am assuming this was the original cost of the vehicle, when I bought it in 2008, so I entered that cost of $35000.  I then got a screen to determine basis of loss/gain.  I originally bought this car for $35000, and traded in a car that was worth $23000 (new in 2003), so I list my gain as $12000.  The next screen asks me for my prior depreciation equivalent, which is $31116.  The next screen tells me that my Gain on Sale is $124. 

There should be three boxes to fill in: Sales Price, Cost/Basis, and Depreciation Taken.

You bought the car with a list price of $35,000 but paid $35,000-23,000 for a purchase price of $12,000? Is that correct?

If so, then based on what @AmeliesUncle suggested I do to my car, this is what I suggest to you:

The first step is to calculate for a loss:

Sales Price = $376.45 (or 500 x 75.29%)

Basis = The depreciated cost of your car when you began using it for business multiplied by 75.29%. I'll use $8,000 for this example, so the math is 8000 x 75.29% = $6,023.20

Depr Taken = $6,023.20 (as this can't be greater than the Basis)

^^ This says that your basis is greater than your sales price, so you don't have a loss.

The next step is to calculate for a gain:

Sales Price = $124 (which is 500 x 24.71%)

Basis = $2,965.20 (which is 12,000 x 24.71%)