Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Is the profit sharing contribution limited by earned income for a self employed business owner? I contributed $24,500 as an employee and $7500 as an employer.

I work as a Notary, and so I am exempt from self-employment tax.  I would like to know if I overcontributed to my 401K.  I am over 50 and contributed $24,500 as an employee and $7500 as an employer.  I am uncertain if the employer matching contributions have to be 20 or 25 percent of the net earnings.  I have my own unincorporated business.  My net earnings are $26,624.  I called my custodian to see if I could withdraw some of the employer matching contributions, but apparently, it is difficult to do, and I could be charged a 10% penalty for the excess contribution.  I tried to work with the Keogh Sep Worksheet but found it difficult to estimate the adjustment amount. Thanks in advance for your help.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
MarilynG
Expert Alumni

Is the profit sharing contribution limited by earned income for a self employed business owner? I contributed $24,500 as an employee and $7500 as an employer.

Employer matching contributions can be up to 25%, so using $26,624, that amount would be $6,656.

Employee contributions can be 100% of income (up to $18,500, plus $6,000 catch-up if over 50), for a total of $24,500.

Click the link for a more detailed article self-employed retirement savings.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

View solution in original post