Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

apl4444

I am a massage therapist. I work at client's houses only. I do not have a main location of business. Can I deduct car and parking expenses?

I understand that if I had a main location of business, I would be able to deduct mileage between the main location of business and the client's house. But, in my case (not having a main location of business), I am not sure if i can deduct mileage and parking expenses.
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

I am a massage therapist. I work at client's houses only. I do not have a main location of business. Can I deduct car and parking expenses?

If your home qualifies as your principle place of business, then you do have a main place of business, even if you can't use the home office deduction due to the exclusive use rule.

For example, you might use your home for bookkeeping, calling clients, and storing supplies.  That may make your home your principle place of business.  You could only take the home office deduction if you used part of your home for business only (like a spare bedroom or section of the basement) and did not use the same area of the house for family or personal living space.  But even if you don't have an exclusive area in your home for business, you can still call your home your main place of business even if it doesn't qualify for the home office deduction.  And in that case you can deduct your transportation expenses (subject the usual rules about keeping records, etc.)

View solution in original post

7 Replies
Carl
Level 15

Do you claim a home office?

Does your home qualify as the "Principal Place of Business" (see link)?