turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Where do I get a K-1? I am a new business owner and it is my first time filing for it. How do I get a K-1 generated?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

Where do I get a K-1? I am a new business owner and it is my first time filing for it. How do I get a K-1 generated?

A K-1 would be generated by a partnership or S-Corp.  If you formed your business as either a Partnership or an S-Corp and are required to file either the 1120S or 1065 you would need to use TurboTax Business to file your Partnership or S-Corp return.  Either filing will generate a Schedule K-1 which you will then use to file your personal income tax return.  The K-1 is entered on your personal return by:

1. Click on Federal Taxes
  2. Income & Expenses
  3. Scroll down to Business Investment and Estate/Trust Income and click Show More
  4. Click Start next to Schedule K-1

If on the other hand, your business is a sole proprietorship or a Single Member LLC (not required to file 1065) you will then just need to use TurboTax Self-Employed which will take you through the steps to fill out a Schedule C.  If this is the case, you will not have a K-1.  

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

View solution in original post

2 Replies