Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

gur1
Level 2

Tax amendment issue

I have been using turbo tax for the last 6 years but this time my spouse had foreign wages. I was not sure how to handle it so I used a Tax consultant this time.

My tax consultant did a mistake and she did not add my spouse's foreign wages in 1040 but claimed a tax credit of taxes paid in a foreign country. Due to this tax refund got bumped up to 9790 when actually I should be getting 1000. I am yet to get a refund deposited in my bank account.

I need to file an amendment and want to use Turbo tax but not sure when should I file an amendment?

My question is which approach is better for when to file an amendment. I am seeing issues with both 

Approach 1 

File amendment after incorrect refund $9790 is deposited to my account and pay back the difference to IRS ($9790 MINUS $1000)? $1000 is the correct refund amount.

My issue is if keep on waiting to get the refund amount of $9790 and I don’t get this refund amount $ 9790 and instead get tax notice that I filed my taxes incorrectly then will I be able to file an amendment at that time or it will lead Penalty or Interest or Audit?

Approach 2

File amendment before incorrect refund $9790 is deposited to my account? 

My issue is if I go with approach 2 and pay back IRS $9790 MINUS $1000 thinking IRS will deposit $9790 to my account as per the initial tax return. It is  possible that IRS does not pay me $9790

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Reply
rjs
Level 15
Level 15

Tax amendment issue