Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Will I get the stimulus check if 2019 is my first tax year being independent?

I recently filed as independent and I was not claimed on my parents report this year, it was accepted at the beginning of this month. I technically didn't make enough to have to file (Only around 3k) since I am a student and most of my necessities have been paid through scholarships and loans. Will I get a check? I use the checker on the IRS and it said my status wasn't available but they said it could be because on "recently filed". Would April 2nd be among "recently filed." Or will I not be getting one?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

Hi! You are actually wrong. You get the stimulus check if you "qualify" as long as you aren't claimed. IRS helped me out and I will be getting a check. As long as you aren't claimed on anyways taxes you get it 🙂 You guys should probably update your info.

View solution in original post

9 Replies
CatinaT1
Expert Alumni

How old are you?  Since you are a student and make around $3k, it sounds like you qualify as a dependent.  If you qualify to be a dependent you do not qualify for the stimulus, regardless of whether or not you are actually claimed.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"