Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Ask the Experts All About the W-4! >> Event happening TOMORROW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

First time e-filing got rejected. PIN / AGI?

It is my first time to file tax report.  I used TurboTax desktop software to e-file.  I thought I could choose an arbitrary PIN since it is my fist time.

The filing was rejected because the PIN doesn't match.  Then I retried with AGI = 0.  Still got rejected for the same reason - "IND-031-04 - The primary taxpayer's AGI or Self-select PIN from last year does not match IRS records".

My question is - what would be the easiest way to e-file the first time?  Do I have to go to irs.gov to register account and apply for PIN?  Thank you!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

14 Replies

make sure you cleared that PIN before entering AGI = 0

First time filers have to file a paper return because there is no AGI to refer to.

AGI = zero might work.

@Helloguys 

I tried to clear the PIN. But TurboTax won't allow me do so.  See screenshot below.  It says "You can make up any number".

Sign.pngSign2.png

I guess my question is - what PIN do I use for the first time?  Do I have to get it from IRS.  Or I can choose my own PIN?  If I choose my own PIN, would TurboTax send it to IRS and IRS just accept that?

I know that IRS use last year's AGI or PIN number as safeguard to authenticate filers.  For first time filers, they don't have "last year PIN".  Their last year AGI is 0.  So it sounds like this safeguard does not exist for them?  Or I got it wrong?  Thanks!

It looks like first time filers have to get their PIN from IRS.  I guess TurboTax (Desktop) need to be fixed to reflect this.