turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

rizzay
Returning Member

I used Turbotax to file 1040 tax return 2018 - Now I have to pay over $2,400 due to penalty!

Turbotax, 

I need your advice. I used your system in 2018 to file 1040. Your system told me it was accurate.

However, I got a CP2000 notice. I am being told I need  to pay $2,452. It stated that there is an "Accuracy - related penalty substantial understatement of tax". They told me this on 02-18-20. They gave me until March 19, 2020 to respond to have them amend it or not. They are right, there was a drastic understatement because I followed Turbotax and listened when Turbotax told me they "checked" my 1040 and it was accurate. I had multiple W-2s but turbotax told me it was accurate to not report all. I am not a tax expert and initially relied on turbotaxes advice.

I responded to IRS with a letter saying "no" I didn't agree with changes. I wrote them saying the "understatement is due to an accident - not a malicious attempt to fradfully under-report." I didn't want this to be on my record years down the line that I am a tax evading fraud.

Please advise me because I trusted your product, which partially got me in this position.

Now I have questions:

1. Does saying "yes" to a 1040 amendment stay on some "record" that could be brought up later to say I am a tax fraud? That is, will I get in "trouble" if I pay my penalty and tell the IRS to amend my 1040?
  2. Should I just resend the initial notice (I kept a copy), this time, selecting "yes" to amend my 1040 then pay my +$2,400 online? 
  3. The letter said interest will continue to increase after March 19,2020. When I look on IRS website to check my name/SSN, etc. for "owed money" it says $0. Do you recommend that I even pay if they are telling me online that I have no money outstanding?