Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Amending Previous Tax returns

Question : I am an international student and wrongly filed  my 2021 tax return as Resident using Tax slayer  and got extra federal refund last year. Now I am trying to amend that using Sprintax, and it says I don't need to file any state returns at the end but my 2021 W2 has state taxes I guess. I am struck with this and any help, suggestions are appreciated. 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

9 Replies
ErnieS0
Expert Alumni

You may not be required to file a state return if your income was too low. Or you may not have to file an amended state return because nothing has changed.

States generally don’t have different tax treatments for resident and nonresident aliens so probably nothing you did on your amended federal return changed your state return.

Everyone who lives in the state is usually taxed the same. There are no exempt periods,

substantial presence tests, and most states don’t recognize international tax treaties. 

If your income was too low to file a state return, but you had tax withheld, you can file to claim a refund.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

Thanks for the reply @ErnieS0 , So how do I pay back the extra money I got from IRS? should I send a check with the amending documents or can it be paid online?

ErnieS0
Expert Alumni

Yes. You pay the IRS online at Make a Payment or you can send a check or money order with your amended return.

Paying online is a better, more secure option.