Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Won't be able to efile

I am filing joint and my husband is a w-2 earner and I am a LLC business owner. When I get to CA tax review, I get an error message that reads in part - "the return is ineligible for electronic filing. This return includes an LLC which is not a disregarded entity." When I open the forms detail, it shows a YES check mark for line 5 under Electronic Filing Review Check which says it is automatically transferred as YES if any of the following forms had entries (Form 3503,3507,3546,3553,3807,3808,3809,5870A). I have triple checked my entries and NO entries where made on any of those forms. When I try to override, it says I will NOT be able to e-file.

I would like to e-file and eliminate this error message, but I am at a loss.

Can anyone help?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
MonikaK1
Expert Alumni

Won't be able to efile

If you are filing a Schedule C and have a single-member LLC, treated as a disregarded entity, you should be able to e-file, unless there is some other reason for the error message. 

If you have an LLC that is treated as a partnership for tax purposes, you will need to file a partnership return and a Schedule K-1.

You may have inadvertently answered a question in the Schedule C section or on the California state return interview other than as intended, causing TurboTax to create additional forms. Try going back to the Schedule C, Self-Employment section and the CA state interview, and answering the questions again. Or, you could delete the California return and prepare it again.

See this TurboTax tips article for more information regarding LLCs.