Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

pashapuh
Returning Member

When does a tax residency status change?

Hello. I was a student of F1 visa from January 2021 till December 2022. I worked on F1 OPT from December 2022 till December 2023.

For tax years 2021 and 2022 I was filing as non-resident alien since I was exempt individual for tax purposes during those two years.

I have transitioned to H1B on December 17th, 2023 after my OPT expired.

I have a question about the status change. I need to open savings account (IRA) to start contributing portion of my income to it, but the financial institutions don’t allow opening IRAs if you’re not a resident alien for taxation purposes. I also would like to change my brokerage account status from non-resident alien to resident alien, but they told me the same: “come back when you are a resident alien and we’ll send you a form to fill to change your status”.

When do I become resident alien, and can open an IRA account?

—Is it when I meet the substantial presence, so in about 6 months since my H1B started in late December;
—Or is it only after the full year of working on H1B, and after I submit my first tax return as resident alien?

Thank you for any guidance and advice.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
pk
Level 15
Level 15

@pashapuh , what I get from your post is that:

(a)  you entered USA as a  student ( F-1 ) in 2021 --- thus your exempt status ( assuming this was your first entry) was valid for  2021 through  2025.

(b) However your status was adjusted to H1-B  on 12/17/2023.  Thus your exempt status ended on that date.