Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Ask the Experts Retirement/Life Events! >> Event happening TOMORROW!!!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

What is my residency status? Tax filing for new F-1 visa after previous visas

Hi everyone,

I saw a lot of great help on here so thought I would ask about my situation.  I am an international graduate student in NY.  I assumed I was a non-resident for 2019, so started using Sprintax to prepare my tax return - I was almost done, but realized I am not 100% sure that I am a non-resident across federal and state returns.  Does anyone have any insights on this?

Here are the states I have lived in and visas I have had (any time I exited the US after the end of my visa, I was in my home country):

- NY: I entered the US on an F-1 student visa from 2014-2017

- California: I re-entered the US on a TN work visa from 2017-2019

- NY: I re-entered the US on an F-1 student visa for a different school from 2019 to present

I understand that the IRS states that after 5 years of being in the US following an initial F-1 visa, international folks may be considered as residents.  I'm not clear on whether this "5 year clock" restarts with new F-1s, or counts all F-1s but pauses during my TN.  I would love to figure out if I should file as a resident or non-resident for my federal, NY, and California returns.

If helpful, here are examples I have been looking at from the IRS, but I couldn't find anything that exactly matched up with my visas: https://www.irs.gov/individuals/international-taxpayers/alien-residency-examples

Thanks so much in advance!

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Reply
DavidS127
Expert Alumni