turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

What is my Pennsylvania Residency Status?

Background information is, I am a permanent resident in Colorado (I live at home with my parents and that is the state I hold my driver's license in). I am a nurse and I signed my first travel assignment in 2023 in California which lasted from 1/1/23 through 4/30/23. I came back to Colorado for maybe 4 days (?) and I moved to PA in mid-May of 2023 for graduate school. For tax purpose, I don't know know what my residency would be considered in the state of PA. I thought I was considered a part-year resident but I am a little confused due to living in PA for longer than 183 days. I rented an apt during the entire duration of my stay in PA as well as earns income in the state of PA. 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Reply
DianeW777
Expert Alumni

What is my Pennsylvania Residency Status?

You could consider yourself a Pennsylvania (PA) part year resident or nonresident. The income you earned while you are physically in PA from the move in date until the end date is taxable to PA. Prepare any nonresident state first if you choose that option. 

If you consider yourself a Colorado (CO) resident because that is where you intent to return after each nursing assignment, then you would file a return there as a full year resident. Include all worldwide income on this return. You would be allowed a credit for taxes paid to another state on your CO return as a resident.

The best way to explain how the tax credit works (taxes paid to another state on the same income) is shown below. Prepare your nonresident state return first, then prepare your resident state return.