Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Using Form 4852 when missing 1099-R

Husband and I thought we were done with our taxes until we realized we hadn't received a 1099-R for a small monthly pension annuity that he started receiving in July 2023. Payer claims they sent one and would mail another one, but none has arrived (they have right address.) Repeated calls are getting us nowhere and I'm giving up hope. My husband has major surgery in a few days and we need to be done with taxes ASAP. 

Seems like we have two choices - file for an extension or file a Form 4852, which I'm hesitant to do, mostly because I've never done it before and I'm afraid I'll do something wrong and have to deal with the IRS in the future. We have most of the info. needed to fill out the 4852 but I have no idea what to put in 8J - which is where you put the distribution codes. Can't find a code for a pension annuity. Also is it mandatory to call the IRS before you file this form? IRS instructions make it sound like it is.

Are these forms something the IRS scrutinizes closely? The amount is only $275 for 2023. Could we end up in a mail audit over such a small amount? Any opinions on whether it would be better to just file for extension? Printing out a paper version of the 1040 plus forms plus mailing seems like a lot of trouble right now since there's a lot going on in our lives and time is running out. Thanks.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
BillM223
Expert Alumni