turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

tien1

TurboTax's DECEPTIVE Marketing Practices

Very disappointed with Turbo Tax's deception. I've been using them for several years. This year I logged in online through my browser to do my taxes, and there were the usual 3 options to choose from: Do it Yourself - $119, Turbo Tax Live Premium - $209 (gives you "live help" with your taxes) and a third option for having someone else do your taxes for you.

I selected the DIY $119 version. Went through, filled out everything, got to the "file" section where you pay TurboTax and file your taxes. For some strange reason, it was trying to charge me for Turbo Tax Live Premium, the $209 version. That's not right, so immediately start looking for the "Help" section.

There is a large red button on the bottom right of the screen that says, "Live Help". I click on that, and get some sort of AI-generated system where you ask questions and it brings up articles. I ask how to contact TurboTax, and the AI gave me the article that gives me the phone number of who to call. So I call TurboTax.

The person on the phone was very nice and tried very hard to help me, but I wasted an HOUR on the phone, only to find out that because I clicked "Live Help" in trying to figure out how to fix being INCORRECTLY CHARGED, they couldn't fix the problem, because I had technically used their "Live Help". Mind you -- I did not opt into this to begin with. I had no idea what I was clicking on, I was just trying to fix the problem that THEIR system created. I did NOT ONCE get any live help with my taxes. And they were unable to fix this.

Absolutely unacceptable, deceptive business practices.