Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

kellycassie
Returning Member

Turbo Tax Considered me a part-time resident and I don't know how to fix it

Hello. I apologize that my situation is kind of complicated so I hope this makes sense. My husband and I got married in August 2023. We filed our taxes jointly ONLY because when I went to do them separately, it told me that I no longer was allowed to add to my Roth IRA because I made more than 10k a year.

NYS recently announced they were sending out extra payments to everyone who received the Empire State credit which led me to check my taxes and the criteria for receiving it, and I realized TurboTax told me I wasn't eligible. The reason is because it has me listed as being a part time resident of NYS, when I have been a resident my whole life.

My husband is in the military and he didn't change his home of record until March 2023. This is where everything gets confusing. All of my settings in turbotax say that I was a full year resident  of NY and that I didnt live in another state. My husband is shown as having W-2s from California and NY but I put that the California income was non-resident income which I'm not sure was correct. Then I have his state of residence listed as NY and below that I have Ohio listed as a permanent change of station because he is working in Ohio as of November 2023 and I have NY set as a temporary duty station because he was only working there while on orders and wasn't considered duty.

I don't know how to amend my taxes so turbotax understands that I was a full year resident and gives me all the credits I was eligible for. I also don't know if NYS will still send me this extra payment if I do make an amendment and qualify for the Empire State credit.

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?