Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Taxes on Superannuation Fund from India

Hi

I am a resident alien on an H1 visa. About a decade back when I worked in India, my employer had a superannuation fund to which I contributed and it had become dormant once I moved to US. Last year they reached out to me about it. In the end, I took a lump sum payout of 50% of the total amount and the rest I get on a monthly basis. Both the lump sum payout and the monthly payments are being taxed in India at 30%.

From my research, the superannuation sounds like a pension plan but I'm not certain. I have the following questions:

1. How should I report these income?

2. Can I claim foreign tax credits on these? 

The taxes paid on all of these is less than $600. How do I go about this in TurboTax?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

7 Replies
ThomasM125
Expert Alumni

Since the income is taxable in India I assume it would be taxable in the US if earned here, so you would have to report it as such. From what you describe it would be treated as pension income, which you can report in TurboTax by preparing a substitute Form 1099-R as follows:

1. Find the Retirement Plans and Social Security menu option
  2. Start or Update IRA, 401(k), Pension Plan Withdrawals (1099-R)
  3. Choose Add Another 1099-R
  4. Choose I'll type it in myself
  5. On the screen that says Tell Us Which 1099-R You Have choose I need to prepare a Substitute 1099-R

Enter the distribution in box 1 and 2 and choose code 7, normal distribution, for the type of distribution. You are entitled to a foreign tax credit on up to the amount of US tax you pay during the year on your foreign income.