Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

jxmaster2000
Returning Member

tax-treat income claim

I'm a researcher, and based on US tax treaty with other country, I'm eligible for tax-exempt income. I also filed for no withheld, so on my W-2 this year, it reports 0 because non are federal-taxable. But in turbotax, I was categorized as low-income. Which I feel may not be true and impacts assessment of my other credits. I wonder where can I enter the adjusted income to show this for better assessment?

Also, would I need to file e-file or paper for this tax-treaty claim situation?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

5 Replies
ThomasM125
Expert Alumni

tax-treat income claim

You should report your W-2 income as it is stated on your W-2 form. If you have foreign income that is not reported on the W-2 form, you can enter it in the Less Common Income section of TurboTax, then Foreign Earned Income and Exclusion. You'll be asked if your foreign income was reported on your W-2 form, to which you have to enter "no" if that is true.  You don't have to apply for the exclusion to enter your foreign income in that section. 

The way the tax treaty income exemption works is you report your income and then enter a negative adjustment to remove the income exempted by the treaty. Since you are entering your foreign income and then exempting it, I'm not sure if there will be any tax benefit to you regarding tax credits though.

You can make that adjusting entry in TurboTax as follows:

1. From the Federal menu in TurboTax find Wages and Income 

2. Find Less Common Income

3. Choose Miscellaneous Income, 1099-A, 1099-C

4. Choose Other Reportable Income