Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Submit 4C to both jobs?

I have been working two jobs since January 2024 and will plan on staying at both for the duration of 2024. At my full time job I make roughly 75,000 yearly. At job 2, I make roughly 15,900 yearly. I receive my paychecks for both jobs on the same day, biweekly. When I used the IRS withholding simulator, it showed that I will need to hold an extra $186 per pay period. Because I make significantly more at job 1 than I do at job 2, I did not check box 2 on my W-4. Instead, I put $186 in box 4C of step 4. Do I need to submit a w4 to both job 1 and job 2? Or can I just submit one w4 with the extra $186 in box 4C to job 1, my highest paying job. Thank you!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies
KrisD15
Expert Alumni

Submit 4C to both jobs?

You can have the additional tax withheld from either job, but usually the employer will want a W-4, so I don't think you can get away with not submitting one. 

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

Submit 4C to both jobs?

Thank you! Job two already has a W4 for me but it doesn't have options 2C filled out or any withholdings in 4C. Would it be best to submit an updated W4 to Job 1, my higher paying/full time job with the $186 in 4C or submit two w4's with that 186 divided in 2? 

KrisD15
Expert Alumni

Submit 4C to both jobs?

Either way would work, I would update the higher paying job so if you decide to let the other job go, you wouldn't have to worry about under-paying. 

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post