Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Boblythe

Sub contractor is applying for ITIN. How do I send 1099-MISC if they don’t have ITIN yet?

I am a contractor and I have a sub who I am very close with. I am helping him set up his w-7 for ITIN but I fear he won’t have it by the time I need to send out 1099’s. He has done a substantial amount of work for me this year, and he is eager to receive ITIN for his future growth.  My question is how do I send him a 1099-MISC if he does not have ITIN but has applied?  Also, the W-7 implies that he sends in his application with a tax return. It is November of 2023 does he need to submit a return for 2022 even if he had no earnings? Or does he submit for 2023 earnings even tho the year is not over. 

Thank you! 

sincerely, a contractor and friend 

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

7 Replies

Sub contractor is applying for ITIN. How do I send 1099-MISC if they don’t have ITIN yet?

@pk?

pk
Level 15
Level 15

@Boblythe , please help me understand the situation a  little bit better:

(a) should I assume that you a US person ( citizen/ Green Card / Resident for tax purposes ) , having a US tax home and having a sole proprietor business/ self-employed person ?

(b)  your sub-contractor is located where  -- in the USA ( on what visa ? ) or  in  another country ?

(c) does the sub. have a business  or self-employed or what  ?

(d) If the sub is  working in another country, then which ?  ---- Tax treaty  may come into play 

I will circle back once I hear from you

pk

Thank you!

yes, I am a US citizen running a single member LLC contracting business. My sub is located here in the US not on a visa.  The sub is currently self-employed.