Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

social security for non working spouse

I have been working for 15 yrs and have 40 work credits in my social security. My wife doesn’t work. So I’m assume she doesn’t have any credits. We have been filing joint returns in past 2 yrs.

how can she get work credits? Can I give her 1099 from my business so that she gets some credits? Or will w2 give her credits 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Replies

Spousal Social Security benefits work as follows

• Spouses who aren't eligible for Social Security on their own work record can apply for benefits based on the other spouse's record.
  • The maximum spousal benefit is equal to 50% of the other spouse's benefit.
  • People can apply for spousal benefits as early as age 62, but they'll get more money if they wait until their full retirement age.
  • If both spouses are eligible for Social Security retirement benefits, both are also eligible to receive the spouse benefit based on the other’s work record.
  • If you are eligible for both your own retirement benefit and a spousal benefit, Social Security will pay you the higher of the two amounts.

for your spouse to get "compensated" she would actually need to perform work for your business and her compensation would need to be reasonable for the type of work performed. how her compensation would be reported depends on the type of entity.  Every dollar she gets would cost 15% or more in payroll taxes, again depending on the type of entity. 

"how can she get work credits? Can I give her 1099 from my business so that she gets some credits? Or will w2 give her credits "