Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Self-employment Teacher Consultiing fees paid as stipend indstead of 1099

I am a teacher and I have a consultant business. Consulting Services provided to my district are not listed on form 1099; but instead, lumped into a stipend payment under categories (i.e. I do seminars and its lumped under 'teach workshops' on my pay-stub). Since this income has already been taxed through my employer, linking reporting it on Sch c business income would cause double taxation issues, as it has already been taxed at a fairly high emolument rate. Additionally, since it is the only type of business income generated in 2018, not including on Sch C would result in -0- income for the year. How do report this?

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
rjs
Level 15
Level 15

"not including on Sch C would result in -0- income for the year."

If you have no business income and no business expenses for the year, then you can just omit Schedule C from your tax return.

You might have expenses for your side business, not related to your W-2 employment. For example, you might have spent money on advertising to try to get outside work. If so, you can file Schedule C and show a loss.

But any expenses related to the additional work you did for the district are employee expenses and, under the new tax law, are not deductible.

View solution in original post

rjs
Level 15
Level 15

This post applies to 2016 and 2017. It does not apply to 2018 or later.