Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

What is form 8615 and what is considered unearned income? Do I need to have my parents fill this out/it is asking me for their information?

I am a college student who has received scholarships, is this considered unearned income or ? I am not sure how to fill out this section.
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

What is form 8615 and what is considered unearned income? Do I need to have my parents fill this out/it is asking me for their information?

The 8615 can be required whether you are claimed or not.

See IRS Pub 17:

https://www.irs.gov/publications/p17/ch31.html#en_US_2016_publink1000174280
Tax for Certain Children Who Have Unearned Income

If a child's interest, dividends, and other unearned income total more than $2,100, part of that income may be taxed at the parent's tax rate instead of the child's tax rate. If the parent doesn't or can't choose to include the child's income on the parent's return, use Form 8615 to figure the child's tax. Attach the completed form to the child's Form 1040 or Form 1040A.

Form 8615 must be filed for a child if all of the following statements are true.

1) The child's unearned income was more than $2,100.

2) The child is required to file a return for 2016.

3) The child either:

a) Was under age 18 at the end of the year,
b) Was age 18 at the end of the year and didn't have earned income that was more than half of his or her support, or
c) Was a full-time student at least age 19 and under age 24 at the end of 2016 and didn't have earned income that was more than half of the child's support.

4) At least one of the child's parents was alive at the end of 2016.