Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

achilo123
Returning Member

If I am an international student with F1 visa, and my wife has F2 visa. When we report our daughter's school expense, which option should I choose to describe my wife?

I see there are only two options, full-time student, and incapable of self-care. But even she is dependent of mine, she is still not a full time student. But I check the definition of incapable of self-care, I don't think that option applies to my wife's situation either. However, if I chose non of the above, we could not get credit from our daughter's expense. Thanks.
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

5 Replies

If I am an international student with F1 visa, and my wife has F2 visa. When we report our daughter's school expense, which option should I choose to describe my wife?

If you are considered a non-resident alien, you can’t use TurboTax.

DawnC
Expert Alumni

TurboTax doesn't support Form 1040NR: U.S. Nonresident Alien Income Tax Return, but we have a partnership with Sprintax offering a nonresident tax filing solution to our TurboTax customers.

Visit the TurboTax/Sprintax site for more info or to get started.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"
rojax731
Returning Member