Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I live in Beijing with my wife/three stepchildren. Wife is a Lithuanian national with no US income. I am a freelance web developer. How should I file, what can I claim?

Can I qualify for the foreign earned income exclusion, the foreign housing exclusion, or the foreign housing deduction? What about my stepchildren? Do my wife and stepchildren need ITINs?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

5 Replies
LinaJ2020
Expert Alumni

I live in Beijing with my wife/three stepchildren. Wife is a Lithuanian national with no US income. I am a freelance web developer. How should I file, what can I claim?

Are you a US citizen or resident?  

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

Yes, I am a U.S. citizen.

pk
Level 15
Level 15

@illiterategenius , having seen your response to @LinaJ2020 , 

(1) yes your net income, as a self-employed is eligible for  Foreign Earned Income exclusion  ( your tax home is foreign **,   the work is performed  in your tax-home and your source of income  is foreign)

(2) foreign housing expenses etc. are recognized only to the extent that the allowed differential amount for Beijing / China is used to bring up your total exclusion to the max allowed for the  tax year i.e. housing expenses  do not increase the maximum allowed.

(3) as self-employed you still will have to pay the self-employment tax   (   SECA,  equivalent to FICA for the wage   earners ) on the net self-employment income. TurboTax will complete the schedule-SE and give you an adjustment of 50% of the SECA to your gross.