Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

jeanne1404
Returning Member

F-1 student back to home country file tax return

Hello, I want to ask several questions for future reference. I am a full-time student holding an F-1 visa and I don't have any income, but I pass the Substantial Presence Test, so I am now a U.S resident with tax purposes.

I have graduated in 2021 and now I am back in my home country for good. I have no plan of entering or studying in the U.S for the next 5 years.

I understand that I have to file a tax return for 2021 because I lived in the U.S in 2021. But what about the tax return for 2022 that I have to file in 2023?

Can I delete my TurboTax account after I file a 2021 tax return? If I delete my TurboTax account, I no longer have to file tax returns, be it 2022 or 2023 and so on, is it correct?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

4 Replies

Contact Sprintax.com with your questions. They are TurboTax’s partner for filing non-resident income tax returns.

Do I have to file?

If you live aboard and are not a US citizen or resident alien, you will only have to file a US income tax return for 2022 and onward if you have income “effectively connected” with the US or US income that is “fixed, determinable, annual or periodical”.

• Effectively connected income is income from US sources that is connected with a US trade or business.
  • Fixed, Determinable, Annual, or Periodical income includes investment income from US sources such as dividends paid by US companies or tax-exempt US municipal bond interest. It can also include qualified scholarship income, pensions and other grants prizes and awards.

Deactivating your TurboTax account