turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

1099s and state income taxes in multiple states

I'm confused about the "Did you make any money in other states" question. Must I file state income taxes if I have 1099s from other states? I'm a consultant that has one-off contracts with universities in other states. Thanks!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
rjs
Level 15
Level 15

You have to pay state income tax to any state where you work. If you do all the contract work in your home state, you do not have to pay tax to the states where your clients are located. But if you go to the state where a client is located, you have to pay tax to that state on the portion of your income that you earn for work that you do in that state. In most cases you will get a credit on your home state tax return for taxes that you pay to other states. (There are exceptions in a few specific states.)

If you work in multiple states, you should probably find a tax professional who is experienced with multi-state tax filing. The tax pro could also give you some guidance as to how to determine how much of your income is from each state.

View solution in original post

rjs
Level 15
Level 15

That's right. In the situation you describe, you only pay tax to your home state. You don't have to file tax returns or pay any tax in the states that the clients are located in. When TurboTax asks whether you made money in other states you can answer No.