turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

derFisch
Returning Member

1099-NEC asks for EIN for my payer, but I do not have any eligible payers or an EIN

I'm a self-employed artist, and Turbotax directs me to fill out a 1099-NEC form. I don't have any clients who have paid over $600, so I haven't received any 1099s, and don't have an EIN, SSN, or any of the specific information it asks for from any of my clients. I contacted an agent, and they told me to put in my own SSN, but it wasn't the right format and wasn't accepted. I get the feeling I'm doing something totally wrong, but I'm not sure what.

I'm very new to filing while self-employed, so if there's anything technical, please explain it like I'm 5.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

6 Replies
AnnetteB6
Expert Alumni

1099-NEC asks for EIN for my payer, but I do not have any eligible payers or an EIN

Since you did not receive any Form 1099-NEC from any payers, do not go through the section to enter any Form 1099-NEC.

The advice you were given to enter your own Social Security number on the Form 1099-NEC was wrong.  If you had received a Form 1099-NEC, then everything you need would have been on the form.  

Instead, when you are going through the self-employed/business section of your return to enter your income and expenses for being a self-employed artist, enter all of your income as 'cash'.  You will have your own records showing what your clients paid you and you will simply enter the total amount you were paid for the business income.

Use the following steps to go back to the section where you were trying to enter the Form 1099-NEC and delete those entries so they will not cause any further issues: