turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

kysf
Returning Member

Passive Activity Loss Carry forward

This is my first year using Turbo Tax.  Last year my accountant carried forward a passive activity loss  for property that I had stopped renting in 2020.  I am not a real estate professional.  Since I'm no longer renting the property, there is no need for Turbo Tax Business but I do not have a K-1 or other document other than last year's 1040.  How do I enter the PAL into Turbo Tax?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

4 Replies

what happened to the property in 2020, if anything? the PAL gets carried over until the property is disposed of in a fully taxable transaction.

so if you remove schedule E, the PAL will disappear. you will have to keep track of it outside of Turbotax. 

kysf
Returning Member

We lived there for two years.  Each year we have used the PAL to offset other passive activity income.  There does not appear to be a way to add this to Turbo Tax (our first year using it) which would enable us to continue to offset the passive income.

I don't want to eliminate the Schedule E but Turbo Tax does not seen to allow me to input this info from previous tax returns.

kysf
Returning Member

We lived there for two years (2020 - 2022).  Each year we have used the PAL to offset other passive activity income.  There does not appear to be a way to add this to Turbo Tax (our first year using it) which would enable us to continue to offset the passive income.

I don't want to eliminate the Schedule E but Turbo Tax does not seen to allow me to input this info from previous tax returns.  I'm trying to figure out how to add this information into Turbo Tax Premier.

DianeW777
Expert Alumni