Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

My New York State taxes have been rejected bc I didn’t fill out a IT203B, but the form was included in the latest version of my taxes. Can someone please explain this?

I’ve tried to file twice and did clarify that I was a part-time resident of New York.
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

5 Replies
JosephS1
Expert Alumni

My New York State taxes have been rejected bc I didn’t fill out a IT203B, but the form was included in the latest version of my taxes. Can someone please explain this?

Please clarify and expand upon your question.  Was the rejection due to not including the form in the e-file transmission?  Was it due to a specific line item error or Tuition adjustment problem?  Without knowing the specific reason for the rejection we cannot give you the proper guidance.

@bkramer-gtalumni 

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

The IT203B form was included. I spoke to a representative at TurboTax yesterday and she said that I needed to clarify how much I was paid at my new job in Minnesota while still living in New York, which I did for the month of July (I moved on July 31).

It was still rejected however. I spoke to someone in the New York tax department and she said that because I lived in New York for more than 184 days I was considered a full time resident of New York and needed to fill out an IT201 form instead, despite TurboTax assuming that I needed to fill out a IT203B form.

But now instead of owing <$300 in NY state taxes I now owe more than $1200, which doesn’t make any sense to me, so I’m not sure which thing is right.

JosephS1