Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

M1NR for Non MN resident and MN resident marriage

My spouse is a CA resident and I am a MN resident. If we want to MFJ for Fed, CA and MN, is that doable in TurboTax? When I try to fill in the order of Fed--> CA--> MN in TurboTax, it takes both of us as MN resident for granted, doesn't generate M1NR form and take all of income as MN based. We have two W2 and some div and int and some stock loss. I need to pay some CA tax because I was working remotely in CA for a while last year. 

MFJ is an easier and economical way for me than MFS.   

Thanks!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

12 Replies
RobertB4444
Expert Alumni

If you are filing jointly then you should file as joint residents of one state and part year residents of the other so that your residency is joint as well.  Otherwise you should file joint federally and separate on the state returns.  

If you are continuing to file as joint you will need to go through each return and exclude the spouse's income from taxation item by item.  Otherwise the states both think that they are entitled to tax both of you.

@Peter-X 

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

Thanks, Robert. MN and CA both require state and fed status to be same. So I can be either MFJ for all or MFS for all. 

Do you know a place in TurboTax to exclude items of my spouse’s? I know M1NR has the place, col a and b. But it is back to my original post. How to direct me m1NR in TurboTax? At the beginning of filing of case, I explicitly say my residence is MN and my spouse is CA in personal information session.

@RobertB4444 

JamesG1