turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

maglib
Level 11

k-1 when principal only distributions

Why is a k-1 produced if a Trust paid principal only, NO DNI? The Trust is a complex trust  which the Trustee has flexibility with no required payouts.  The Trust plans on paying all the taxes with multiple beneficiaries  of differing amounts. Some withdrew most of their money.  

Level2  distributions show no where on the K-1's so why even reported?

Thank you.

**I don't work for TT. Just trying to help. All the best.
***Say "Thanks" by marking as BEST ANSWER and clicking the thumb icon in a post and that I solved your question
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"
I am NOT an expert and you should confirm with a tax expert.
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

@maglib wrote:

1. If the TRUST agreement allows for funeral expenses to be paid, they still won't be expenses for tax purposes, am I correct on that?

Yes, you are correct; funeral expenses are not deductible on a 1041 (only on a 706 for estate tax).

See https://www.irs.gov/instructions/i1041#en_US_2023_publink100077445

@maglib wrote:

2. I had lawyers fees for getting all the assets, filing all the papers to obtain the trust assets. Lots of meetings with family to get paperwork signed.  Are these expenses of the Trust for tax purposes?

Those legal fees should be deductible as expenses directly related to the administration of the trust.

View solution in original post

7 Replies
RobertB4444
Expert Alumni

K-1s are generated even if they are nothing but zeroes,  It is a reporting requirement.

@maglib 

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post