Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

MlyneDSB

J-1 visa trainee paid by a foreign company (in case of a 3rd J1 visa)

Hello,

I am currently working in the U.S. with a J1 Trainee visa, and I am paid by a foreign company on a foreign bank account.

This is my third J1 visa: 

- 2016 - from June 19th to August 11th - J1 Summer work and travel visa. I was working for a U.S. company and paid in the U.S. on a U.S. bank account. I did my tax return and get a tax credit. I do not remember exactly which form I completed.

- 2018-2019 - from Augst 18th, 2018 to May 27th, 2019, I was a student in the U.S., and I completed the form 8843.

Now, I am a J1 Trainee in the U.S., I arrived February 28th, 2022, and my visa is expiring on August 31st, 2023. I am completely lost about what I should do for my tax and which form(s) to complete as I am apparently considered as a U.S. Citizen for tax purposes, but I am not paid in the U.S.

Can someone help me?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

4 Replies
DaveF1006
Expert Alumni

First of all, your five year calendar year exemption expired in 2021.  You may qualify for an exception to this five-year rule if you can claim you have a closer connection to your foreign country as stipulated by this IRS source. All four of these requirements must be met to qualify for the exception.

1. The student does not intend to reside permanently in the United States.
  2. The student has substantially complied with the immigration laws and requirements relating to his student nonimmigrant status.
  3. The student has not taken any steps to change their nonimmigrant status in the United States toward becoming a lawful permanent resident of the United States.