Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I transitioned from a non-resident to a resident alien status in 2019. Would someone please help me figure out how to submit a 1042-S form (Code 16) using TurboTax?

I am reposting this because, for some reason, I never got a notification via e-mail for a response and failed to reply to one of the questions from the expert that was helping me last time. I apologize for that.
Some details that I have been asked:
1. I am probably filing a 1040 form instead of a 1040-NR since I was a resident at the end of the year.
2. I haven't paid tuition out of my pocket.
3. The school hasn't issued a 1098-T form.
4. The 1042-S form represents taxable (stipend) dollars.
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

4 Replies
pk
Level 15
Level 15

I transitioned from a non-resident to a resident alien status in 2019. Would someone please help me figure out how to submit a 1042-S form (Code 16) using TurboTax?

@derick_baum , it would safer to answer if I knew when you entered USA with F-1 or are you on J visa ?  Also which country are you from ?

Generally it would be easier  if you had a 1098-T from the schools  because otherwise  you essentially have to create 1098 entries from the 1042-S ( code 16 implying this is stipend/scholarship ).  So please answer my questions and I will comeback.

Hi,

Thanks for your response. I entered the USA with an F-1 visa, and I'm from Brazil. Unfortunately, I don't seem to have a 1098-T emitted from my school. 

pk
Level 15
Level 15