Open TurboTax

Why sign in to the Community?

  • Submit a question
  • Check your notifications
or and start working on your taxes
Announcements
Your taxes, your way. Get expert help or do it yourself. >> Get started
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
lohman09
New Member

I choose turbo tax premier, but I don't need it, as my home sale didn't need to be reported, so I want to use the turbo tax deluxe. How do I drop back to that level?

 
1 Reply
CarolynB
New Member

I choose turbo tax premier, but I don't need it, as my home sale didn't need to be reported, so I want to use the turbo tax deluxe. How do I drop back to that level?

You can downgrade using the Clear and Start Over feature but bear in mind that the different TurboTax "flavors" handle different tax situations and their associated forms.

For example, if you want to downgrade from Deluxe to Federal Free Edition and you're itemizing (Schedule A), you can clear and start over with the free edition, but once you enter your itemized deductions in the free edition, you'll be asked to upgrade to Deluxe.

Here is a short list of some common tax situations and the online products that now uniquely support them:

    Itemized Deductions (Schedule A/1040)- Deluxe, Premier, and Self-Employed
    Capital Gains or Losses (Schedule D) - Premier and Self-Employed
    Rental Income (Schedule E) - Premier and Self-Employed
    Profit or Loss from Business (Schedules C-EZ and C) - Self-Employed

follow these steps to clear your return and start over:

In TurboTax Online, you can clear and start over as long as you haven't paid or registered yet (free users are asked to register their accounts before they file).

Note: You can’t clear and start over using the mobile app. Instead, log in to your TurboTax account from a desktop or mobile browser to clear and start over.

    Sign in to TurboTax Online and open your return by clicking the orange Take me to my return button.
    With your screen maximized, click My Account (at the top of your screen toward the right) and select Clear & Start Over. (If on a tablet or phone, you may find the Clear & Start Over option by clicking the three parallel lines, or “hamburger”, in the top left corner.)
    Answer Yes to Are you sure you want to clear your return?
    After your entries have been cleared out, we'll prompt you to select a TurboTax product so you can start over from the very beginning.

A reason you might want to clear and start over is if you think you’re in a higher-priced version of TurboTax and don’t need to be. Have a look below under Related Information for more details.

If you're signed in under last year's login, once you clear and start over we'll automatically transfer last year's info over if you select the PLUS upgrade, Deluxe, Premier, or Self-Employed. Federal Free Edition (without PLUS) does not include the year-over-year transfer feature.

About Community

Learn about taxes, budgeting, saving, borrowing, reducing debt, investing, and planning for retirement.

3.49m
Members

2.62m
Discussions

Manage cookies
v