Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

How is my home income taxed in America?

If I’m a permanent resident (a green card holder) since 9/1/2024 and I’m leaving today for home, should I pay taxes in US on the income I’ve received in my home country this year?

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
pk
Level 15
Level 15

@sondmitry ,  what I am getting from your short post and reply to my colleague @tagteam , is 

(a) you were admitted to USA with a GreenCard  on 09/01/2024.  Thus you are a US person and taxed on your world income for the calendar/Tax year 2024.

(b) assuming that you  had no other stay in the USA during year 2024 or earlier, your  Resident period starts on 09/01/2024  ( the first full 24 hr day present in the USA ).

(c) This implies that your world earnings  from 09/01/2024 till 12/31/2024 is subject to US taxes  ( Federal, State  and FICA/SECA ).

(d) You ARE NOT eligible for first year choice -- for the year 2024 since you have passed the GreenCarxd test.

Please provide more info on your situation , so we can answer with specifics on your case --- when did you enter the country, which country are you from,  are you married  and if so to  US person  ( citizen/GreenCard / Resident for Tax Purposes),  when and why are you leaving the USA ( business/ abandoning GreenCard/ other reasons etc. ).  The more detailed your answer(s)  the  more specific our answers  will be .  Please answer.

I will circle back once I hear from you.

View solution in original post

pk
Level 15
Level 15

@sondmitry , we have a small problem.

Please see this from the IRS  ( and there is a similar note from the US Treasury)-->

A-2024-26 (irs.gov)