turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

How do I cancel my taxes

 
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

How do I cancel my taxes

If you have already transmitted your returns you cannot cancel them or get them back.  If for some reason your returns get rejected, you don't have to re-e-file them, or you can make any changes you need to & then re-e-file your returns.

 

If you have not filed your returns you can just walk away from your account.  You can also use the Clear & Start over option to clear any information from your account.  

 

How do I clear and start over in TurboTax Online?

As long as you haven't submitted payment, deducted the TurboTax fee from your refund, or registered, you can erase your return and start from scratch in TurboTax Online.

  1. Sign in and select a topic to continue your return.
  2. On the next screen, from the left-side menu, select Tax Tools, and then Clear & Start Over (select the menu icon in the upper-left corner if you don't see this menu).
  3. Answer Yes in the pop-up to confirm.

 

If your returns get accepted then you would have to amend your return to make any changes if you need to.  

View solution in original post

1 Reply

How do I cancel my taxes

If you have already transmitted your returns you cannot cancel them or get them back.  If for some reason your returns get rejected, you don't have to re-e-file them, or you can make any changes you need to & then re-e-file your returns.

 

If you have not filed your returns you can just walk away from your account.  You can also use the Clear & Start over option to clear any information from your account.  

 

How do I clear and start over in TurboTax Online?

As long as you haven't submitted payment, deducted the TurboTax fee from your refund, or registered, you can erase your return and start from scratch in TurboTax Online.

  1. Sign in and select a topic to continue your return.
  2. On the next screen, from the left-side menu, select Tax Tools, and then Clear & Start Over (select the menu icon in the upper-left corner if you don't see this menu).
  3. Answer Yes in the pop-up to confirm.

 

If your returns get accepted then you would have to amend your return to make any changes if you need to.  

message box icon

Get more help

Ask questions and learn more about your taxes and finances.

Post your Question
Manage cookies