Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

TQW
Level 2

How do I calculate Income from Virginia sources as a nonresident for Virginia state taxes?

How do I calculate "Income from Virginia sources" as a nonresident for Virginia state taxes?

I am a resident of Washington state, but worked for a bit while on vacation in Virginia. How do I calculate nonresident income allocation for my Virginia tax return? The only guidance offered by TurboTax is "Enter the portion of the following items that you earned in Virginia (or from Viginia sources)" but it doesn't explain how to find that portion.

TurboTax doesn't seem to support this scenario. Would I be better to directly fill out VA form 763 and file it directly?

https://www.tax.virginia.gov/sites/default/files/taxforms/individual-income-tax/2023/763-2023.pdf

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
DianeW777
Expert Alumni

How do I calculate Income from Virginia sources as a nonresident for Virginia state taxes?

Based on your information there is no tax return required by Virginia (VA). You do not have any VA source income and you are not a resident.  Even though you did some work while on vacation in VA, this does not constitute income from VA sources.

• Nonresident -- A person who is not a resident or part-year resident, but who receives taxable income from Virginia sources is a nonresident for income tax purposes. 

@TQW 

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

View solution in original post

6 Replies
JamesG1
Expert Alumni