Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

bridgeman01
Returning Member

Forgot to account for 1099-Q

Hi all,

I am a student currently enrolled in college. I filled my taxes through turbotax utilizing my W-2 (I work on campus) and 1098-T (I inputted my education expenses and all of that fun stuff in addition to my scholarships) but didn’t realize that a Prepaid plan that I receive money from for classes is classified as a 529 plan, meaning I have to account for it in my taxes. I went to amend my return and after inputting the data from my 1099-Q there was no change in my refund amount. Does this mean I don’t need to amend my return? I’ve read some sources that have told me the 1099-Q is simply an informational document and that if turbotax calculates that there isn’t a change in your refund (therefore those expenses were utilized for education) you don’t need to report it as income (and therefore I don’t need to amend my return). Please let me know if I am understanding this correctly, thank you in advance!

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies
JillS56
Expert Alumni

Yes, you are correct that Form 1099-Q is an information document.   You do have to report it on your return unless it will affect the tuition credit that you may be entitled to.