Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Filing as a dependent without parents tax information on 8615

I'm sure this question has been asked somewhere else, but I am absolutely desperate for some help here.

I'm a college student and recently had to cut contact with my parents because of many reasons. I am now responsible for paying my way through and doing everything by myself. When I'm not on campus, I'm living with my adult sister.

I'm filing for my federal aid as a provisional independent because, as the FAFSA states, contacting my parents would put me in a threatening situation. Thus, I have no idea how to fill out the 8615 part of my taxes when I don't have my parents information nor can I contact them, especially since I was technically a dependent for the year 2023. Is there anyway I can bypass these questions regarding their information, income, SSN, etc? Has anyone else been in a similar situation? I've thought of emancipation, but I'm already 18, almost 19, so I am legally emancipated. If anyone needs the info, I legally live in RI but go to college in MA. 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies

Let’s explore whether you qualified as a dependent of your parents in 2023. If you lived more nights with your older sister she can claim you. If you provided more than half of your own support during the year no one can claim you. 

Sadly, this cut off is pretty recent so I think they definitely still have the right to claim me as a dependent. 

rjs
Level 15
Level 15